Hollywood awards winners in 2014

Hollywood awards winners in 2014

AACTA International Awards

Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts International Awards are prestigious awards presented by a non-profit organization AACTA (Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts). The AACTA was founded to identify, promote, award and celebrate the great efforts and achievements of Australia in the field of performing arts.  In 2014, the AACTA International Awards took place at Sunset Marquis, Los Angeles, California. The ceremony was hosted by the President of AACTA Geoffrey Rush with big names from Australian film industry Yvonne Strahovski, Anthony LaPagila, Stuart Beattie and Jacki Weaver as his co-hosts.  Geoffrey Rush has described the AACTA International Awards as the “Australian voice to the international Academy discussion”.

As art is not restricted by boundaries same is the case with the AACTA International Awards where the best international films are considered for nominations. An eighty member International Chapter of the Academy chooses the nominees and winners. This year the AACTA International Awards were announced for seven categories including Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Film, Best Screenplay, Best Director and Best actor and Best Actress in supporting roles.  The winners of the 3rd AACTA International Awards are as follows

Best Director: Alfanso Cuaron: Gravity

Best Film:        Gravity

Best Screen Play: Eric W. Singer, David O. Russell : American Hustle

Best Actor           : Chiwetel Ejiofor:   12 Years a Slave

Best Lead Actress: Cate Blanchett: Blue Jasmine

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender:  12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Actress :  Jennifer Lawrence: American Hustle

American Film Awards

The 66th Directors Guild of America Awards

The Directors Guild Awards  are given in recognition of directorial contributions in feature films, TV dramas and documentaries. This year on 25th January the 66th Directors Guild Awards were presented to Alfonso Curaon for his outstanding direction for the film Gravity while Jehane Noujaim emerged as the best director for documentaries for the film The Square.  Vince Gilligan was the best director for drama series Breaking Bad.

The 25th  Producers Guild of America Awards

The 25th Producers Guild of America Awards ceremony took place on 19th January 2014 to honor the best producers of film and television.  This year there was a tie between the movies Gravity and 12 Years a Slave and the producers of both films were presented with the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures.  Other recipients included Peter Del Vecho for Frozen (animated movie category), We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileak (Documentary) and Thomas Felton for Breaking Bad (TV series).

The 66th Writers Guild of America Awards

 The outstanding contributions of writers for films, TV, radio and video games are honored every year at the Writers Guild of America Awards.  In 2014, writers for film Her (original) and Captain Philips (adapted) won the 66th Writers Guild America Awards.  Among the TV series writers for the serial Breaking Bad walked away with the Best Writer’s Awards.

British Film Awards

BAFTA or the British Academy Film Awards are held every year to celebrate the best local and international films.  Films and documentaries from any county screened in Britain during the year are considered for nominations. This year the British-American film Gravity won the most nominations and the most awards. Peter Greenaway received the Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award. The ceremony was held in the Royal Opera House London and was hosted by Stephen Fry.

The Jameson Empire Awards

 The British and international cinema ois also honored at the Jameson Empire Awards. The award ceremony was held on 30th March 2014 at Grosvenor House Hotel London.  The nominations were for twenty categories with Gravity being chosen as the Best Film and The World’s End as the Best British Film. Special awards were given to Hugh Jackman (Empire Icon Award), Simon Pegg (Empire Hero Award), Paul Greengrass (Empire Inspiration Award), Tom Cruise was awarded the Empire 25th Award: Legend of Our Time while Arnold Schwarzenegger was the proud recipient of  Empire 25th Award: Action Hero of Our Time Award.

11th Irish Film and Television Awards

The Double Tree by Hilton played host to the distinguished 11th Irish Film and TV Awards on 5th April 2014. The outstanding Irish films in 2013 were honored at the ceremony where awards were presented in forty two different categories.  Film Cavalry was judged the Best Film while Brendon Gleeson won the Best Actor for the same film. The film Byzantium won two major awards one for Best Direction (Neil Jordan)  and Saoirse Ronan for Best Actress. The President of Ireland Micheal D. Higgins was presented with Honorary Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Film and TV Industry.


Post By MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

Website: →


MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

This entry was posted in AACTA International Awards, Hollywood Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find us on Facebook

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta