Academy-Oscar Awards 1980-1989

In the 1980s some of the very best movies of our times were made that won the Oscar Awards. The best movies of the decade started with “ordinary people” in 1980 whereas English movies won for the next 2 years running, with “Chariots of Fire” in 1981 and “Gandhi” in 1982. The next year in 1983, Terms of Endearment won the big one. In 1984 it was back to the historical classics with “Amadeus” acquiring the award. From 85 to 89 the movies “Out of Africa”, “Platoon”, “The Last Emperor”, “Rain Man” and “Driving Miss Daisy” won respectively.

In 1980, Robert Redford was the first director of the decade to win the Oscar award, next  in 1981, it was Warren Beatty who won the 1981 Oscar award for directing Reds  followed by Richard Attenborough for his direction of Gandhi. James L. brooks won his first and only Best Director Oscar award to date in 1983, and Milos Foreman won it in 1984 for directing Amadeus. In 1985 Sydney Pollack won the best director Oscar award for his direction of “Out of Africa”. The war drama platoon gave Oliver stone his Oscar for best direction in 1986. Bernardo Bertolucci won it in 1987, Barry Levinson in 1988 and Oliver stone won the last Oscar of the decade.

In the 80s following actors won Academy awards for best actor in a leading role in respective years:

  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1980: Robert De Niro
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1981 Henry Fonda
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1982: Ben Kingsley
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1983: Robert Duvall
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1984: F. Murray Abraham
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1985:  William Hurt
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1986: Paul Newman
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 987: Michael Douglas
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1988: Dustin Hoffman
  • Academy/Oscar Award for best actor 1989: Denial Day Lewis

The best actress Academy awards in the 80s started from Sissy Spacek in 1980, Katharine Hepburn her last Oscar best actress award in 1981, and best actress Oscar award, Meryl Streep in 1982, Shirley MacLaine won it in 1983, whereas in 1984 Sally Field claimed the award. From 1985 to 1989 the awards were won by Geraldine Page, Marlee Matlin, Cher, Jodie Foster, and Jessica Tandy respectively.

Best supporting actor award went to Timothy Hutton in 1980.  In 1981 John Gielgud got the award. The list from 1982 to 1989 is as follows; 1982 Louis Gossett Jr., 1983 Jack Nicholson, 1984 Haing S.Ngor, 1985 Don Ameche, 1986 Michael Caine, 1987 Sir Sean Connery, 1988 Kevin Kline, 1989 Denzel Washington.

For the best supporting actress category Mary Steenburgen claimed the Best supporting actress Oscar Award in 1980. Winners for the next nine best supporting actress Academy awards follow in order from 1981 to 1989;  Maureen Stapleton, Jessica Lange, Linda Hunt, Peggy Ashcroft, Anjelica Huston, Dianne Wiest, Olympia Dukakis, Geena Davis, Brenda Fricker.

Post By MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

Website: →


MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

This entry was posted in Academy/Oscar Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find us on Facebook

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta