Saturn Awards

Saturn Awards


The annual Saturn Award is the presentation of the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films.  These awards are meant to laud, acknowledge and honor the top achievements mostly in science fiction, fantasy and horror in movies, TV, as well as in home videos. According the academey, they honor all winners very deservingly as we truly recognize their hardworks and successes.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films is a non-profit organization offering open membership to the people. Every year, a big number of academy’s members vote for the winners of the Saturn awards. These members have been proudly presenting the saturn awards to serve the purpose for last 30 years. According  the academey, they record these fine cinematic achivements and believe that the saturn award has a significant meaning for individuals who are nominated or are presented the awards on the stage, also for those who value and have a high regard for the genre the academy scrutinze

The concept of the Saturn Awards was initiated by Dr. Donald A. Reed in the year of 1972. The general idea of presenting these awards was to acknowledge the hard work behind the  genres of science fiction and fantasy films so that these movies can  get the admiration and honor for what they do and are worthy of.  In the beginning, the Saturn award was referred to as a Golden Scroll and such approach still exists there. The body of Saturn award is an illustration of the planet Saturn by means of its ring(s) on the edge of movie.

As mentioned earlier, the Saturn awards are particularly admiring science fiction, horror and fantasy in films and television. Such awards have also started recognizing and honoring the creation in standard dramatic genres. They also present special awards such as lifetime achievement for deserving celebrities.

Like every year, The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films arranged the ceremony of 39h Saturn Awards on June 26, 2013 in Burbank, Calif to recognize outstanding science fiction, fantasy, and horror productions and successes. Wayne Brady hosted the stunning night of the Saturn Awards. The evening of the awards was dedicated to the late writer Richard Matheson who was also honored with the Saturn Visionary Award 2013. His award was received by his son in the award ceremony.

The Avengers was the winner of the 39th annual Saturn Awards evening and won four trophies. The superhero was honored with four trophies from the Saturn Awards and received best science-fiction film, supporting actor (Clark Gregg), best director (Joss Whedon) as well as best special effects awards. Jennifer Lawrence was declared the winner of best actress for her performance in The Hunger Games while Matthew McConughey won best actor award for Killer Joe. Anne Hathaway was given best supporting actress award for The Dark Knight Rises. Suraj Sharma was the winner of the best performance by a younger actor award for Life of Pi. The Saturn Award for best animated film was presented to Frankenweenie. The movie also named best music award for Danny Elfman.

The winners of 39th Annul Saturn Awards in rest of film categories included:

  • Life of Pi -best fantasy film,
  • The Cabin in the Woods- best horror/thriller film
  • Skyfall- best action/adventure film.
  • Headhunters- Best International film
  • Killer Joe- best independent film
  • Quentin Tarantino for Django Unchained– Best Writing
  • Dan Hennah for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey-Best Production Design
  • Alexander Berner for Cloud Atlas – Best Editing
  • Paco Delgado for Les Miserables –Best Costume
  • Heike Merker, Daniel Parker, Jeremy Woodhead for Cloud Atlas – Best Make-Up
  •  Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick for Marvel’s The Avengers- Best Special Effects

The competition on television side was also seen intense where Breaking Bad beat others and named three Saturn Awards. The honors were given for best presentation on television, Bryan Cranston for best actor and Jonathan Banks for best supporting actor on television.  Anna Torv was honored for the best actress on television trophy for the final season of Fringe. Revolution was the winner of Saturn award for home best network series while The Walking Dead was declared successful for best cable/syndicated series. Laurie Holden received best supporting actress on television for The Walking Dead while Yvonne Strahovski won for her guest appearance in Dexter.

Some other awards categories included:


  • William Friedkin-Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Jonathan Frakes- Life Career Award
  • Vince Gilligan- the Dan Curtis Legacy Award
  • Silence! The Musical- Theater Showcase Award


  • Touchback -Best DVD/BD Release
  • Little Shop of Horrors: The Director’s Cut -Best DVD/BD Special Edition Release
  • Universal Classic Monsters: The Essential Collection”-Best DVD/BD Collection Release
  • Star Trek: The Next Generation, Season 1 & 2- Best DVD/BD Television Series Release

Post By MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

Website: →


MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

This entry was posted in Saturn Awards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find us on Facebook

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

You might also likeclose