AACTA International Awards

AACTA International Awards

AACTA is the short form of Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts which is the name of a non-profit organization. The organization aims to recognize, honor, encourage and rejoice Australia’s best achievements in the industries of film and television.  Such awards are generally presented to Australian made movies, however also presented the best films of 2011 awards without considering geography.

AACTA International Awards are considered Australia’s equal of the Oscars and the BAFTAs. The AACTA started AACTA International awards in 2011 for the first time. Australian actor Geoffrey Rush is the proud head of AACTA International awards. The academy wanted to lift up the outline of Australian movies and television in the country and worldwide. Moreover, it wanted to transform the way it honors talent from its old jury system to the more acknowledged and understood aspects of overseas film organizations. Some of the major categories of these awards include best film, best director, best screenplay, best actor and best actress.

1st AACTA International Awards:

The nominations for 1st AACTA International awards were announced at the AACTA Awards Luncheon on 15 January 2011 whereas the ceremony was held on 27 January 2012 at Soho House West Hollywood, Los Angeles, California. The night was presenting the view of shine and glamour with the pleasing smiles of winners. Some renowned Australian film celebrities such as Russell Crowe, Liam Hemsworth, and Nicole Kidman presented the awards.

The Artist named three trophies including best film, best director and best actor. Some of the winners of 1st AACTA International Awards were:

  • The Iron Lady- Best actress
  • Clooney, Grant Heslov and Beau Williamson for The Ides of March, and  J.C Chandor for Margin Call – best screen play

2nd AACTA International Awards

The nominations for 2nd AACTA International Awards were announced on 8 January 2013 while the ceremony was held on 26 January 2013 at Soho House West Hollywood, Los Angeles, California Australian actor Russell Crowe hosted the night of the 2nd AACTA International awards where David O. Russell’s romantic tragedy Silver Linings Playbook won three awards including best film, best director and best actress. In addition, two open trophies were also presented to Robert De Niro (best supporting actor) and Jacki Weaver (best supporting actress) for the movie. Daniel Day-Lewis was declared the winner of best actor for Lincoln. Django Unchained was given the 2nd AACTA International award for best screen play.

Post By MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

Website: →


MairaS (755 Posts)

Webpreneur. CEO ContentCreatorZ Pakistan. Managing Partner Media Marketing Services.

This entry was posted in AACTA International Awards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. Film
    Posted October 16, 2015 at 4:28 pm | Permalink

    Hi all, here every person is sharing these familiarity, therefore it’s pleasant to
    read this webpage, and I used to pay a quick visit this website all the time.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


  • Find us on Facebook

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta